Bastille (stylized as BΔSTILLE) are an English alternative rock band from London. First formed in 2010, Bastille began as a solo project by singer-songwriter Dan Smith, who later decided to form a band. The quartet consists of members Dan Smith, Chris ‘Woody’ Wood, Will Farquarson and Kyle Simmons. The name of the band derives from Bastille Day – an event celebrated on 14 July, recognising the Storming of the Bastille in Paris, which is also the same date lead vocalist, Dan Smith, was born.

In December 2011, record label EMI Music announced that they had offered Bastille a record contract with Virgin Records. Their debut single, “Overjoyed” was subsequently released in April 2012. Their second single, “Bad Blood” – which shares the same title as the band’s first studio album, followed in August 2012, and received moderate success in the United Kingdom, charting at number ninety. The third track to be taken from Bad Blood, titled, “Flaws”, became the group’s first to enter the charts inside the Top 40, debuting at number twenty-one.

In February 2013, ahead of the release of their debut album, the band’s fourth single, “Pompeii” was released to huge demand, charting at number two in the UK, and giving Bastille their first number-one single in Scotland. Their first studio album, titled Bad Blood, was released in March 2013, and debuted atop the UK Albums Chart